Elizabeth Engelken

Administrative Assistant
515-292-3810 (Office) x110

Elizabeth is a native of Kansas and graduated from Kansas State University with a degree in Secondary Education. She taught Science classes three years at a high school there prior to moving to Starkville, Mississippi when her husband Terry accepted a teaching job at the College of Veterinary Medicine. During their time in the south of fifteen years, they welcomed a daughter and three boys. She was a stay-at-home mom for 15 years. They were part of St. Joseph’s parish which was the only Catholic church in the county near the campus of Mississippi State. Many in the South openly profess their faith which provided many opportunities for the family and blessed friendships with fellow Christians. Elizabeth was able to participate in weekly women’s nondenominational bible studies that greatly enhanced her love of reading and praying with Scripture. During this time too, Elizabeth and Terry were active with the Catholic Cursillo movement within the state attending the retreat and working to keep ongoing meetings within the region.

On a cold January day, Elizabeth and family moved to Ames in sub zero temperatures and a recent snowfall. While this was all shocking initially, with time we’ve regained our appreciation to distinct seasonal changes, planted a garden, followed our children’s sports throughout the years and more readily made shorter trip to see our extended large families. During this time Elizabeth worked 12 years for the Ames Community School district as the school secretary, enjoying the educational setting, teachers and the children that attended. She has been St Cecilia member teaching CCD, Life Teen and attended NCYC, Disciples of Jesus and Mary, Date Night Team couple and most recently Stephen’s Ministry. Several of these ministries were shared with St. Thomas Aquinas and always she has enjoyed the community, spirituality and worship that is offered.

Her hobbies include reading (mostly mystery fiction), several English Netflix programs, quilting, “covid new” knitting, walking for exercise, hiking new places in nature, biking when I have a free day (almost never), and hanging with my labradoodle Molly. Plus the BIG one - seeing my new granddaughter and soon to be grandson.